I’m no Yogi

Picture yourself at your very best!

Picture yourself at your very best!

but I do understand mindfulness. It’s just paying attention……and mostly to what you are saying to yourself, you know that voice in your head constantly having a conversation and not necessarily caring if you are listening not?

Not listening or paying attention is detrimental to your emotional health, especially if that voice is being negative and mean.

How often in conversation do you say ” I’m such a ninny,  jeez I am so clumsy or what a stupid head I am! (or insert here your very own degrading statement ).

Your head can take ahold of these words and put them on repeat, so that while you are mindlessly going about your day, your head is telling you that you are a ninny or something a whole lot worse than that.
That is not nice, in fact, it is just plain mean.
Being mindful allows us the opportunity to give our minds something nice to chew on, something nice to say, even if at the time we don’t believe it, eventually it will take hold and we will believe it and become it!
Think of the worst thing you have ever said to yourself and turn that right around (remember that parental threat ” I will turn this car right around if you kids don’t stop that……” Well we can do the same thing with our minds.
Instead of ” I am such a ninny” it’s “I am so smart and capable, in fact I am She Ra Princess of Power, today I will conquer the world!”  (or at least take out the trash)
I recently read a wonderful quote……(I credit you, who wrote this, whoever you are!)
BE FEARLESS, HAVE A COHERENT VISION OF YOURSELF AND YOUR MISSION IN LIFE
AND TRULY BELIEVE THAT YOU CAN CONQUER ANYTHING YOU FACE. THAT SENTIMENT WILL TRANSLATE IN YOUR WALK AND BECOME YOUR SWAGGER.
Pick your very own swagger and practice mindfulness at least once each day, no yoga necessary. Mostly be nice, especially to yourself.
4 thoughts on “I’m no Yogi

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 327 other followers

